Friday, April 03, 2009

BCQC College Quizzer Championship 2009 Results

For the Yash Marathe Prize (the prize is named after the best college quizzer of the previous year; next year it will have the name of this year's winner)

Date: 29 March, 2009
Venue: the Boat Club, COEP, Pune
Set and Conducted by: J. Ramanand (with contributions from Suraj Menon and others)
Theme: General, Solo

Quiz Final Results
Format: 2 rounds of IR + Special round of top 4 (10 questions in a common play-off format)
Winner: Yash Marathe - Modern College (A) - 130
2nd: Aditya Gadre (E) - COEP - 125
3rd: Gaurav Singh (F) - COEP - 90
4th: Rajeev Galgali (H) - Kalmadi Shamrao Junior College - 40
5th: Yash Sinha (C) - PICT - 35
6th: Aditya Chandorkar (B) - BJMC - 30
7th: Aadinath Harihar (G) - COEP - 25
Joint 8th: Suvajit Chakraborty (D) - Symbiosis Law - 20
Joint 8th: Raghav (I) - Symbiosis Law - 20

Best First Year College Quizzer: C.V.R. Sastry
Best Junior College Quizzer: Rajeev Galgali


The quiz started off on a low scoring note with rookie Rajeev, the only junior collegian in the finals leading at 40 after the first IR round. Rajeev didn't score in the second IR round where Yash Marathe and Aditya Gadre made huge gains with Yash at 80 and Aditya at 75.

After the IR rounds, the top 4 (Yash M, Aditya G, Gaurav Singh (at 50) and Rajeev went into a super-final. The format in this round was such that at a time, questions would be asked keeping at least 3 left open and the finalists could choose their question to attempt. A question was closed if it was answered or if there were 4 attempts. 5 questions clockwise and 5 anti-clockwise. Yash and Aditya dominated this round going neck-to-neck. At the end, just like last year, this quiz went upto the last question and Yash Marathe went into history as the first to win a prize named after himself :-).


SURAJ said...

Yash marathe isnt the first to win a prize named after himself... max planck has done it too....thats what yash'O' said .....

Nikhil said... many ppl participated ?

Ramanand said...

I think there were about 20-25 people.

Yash Marathe said...

Max Planck won the first Max Planck award jointly with Albert Einstein