Sunday, August 26, 2012

BCQC July Open

 The BCQC July Open Quiz
 Date: 22nd July 2012
Set and Conducted by: Debanjan Bose and Hari Nair
Teams of 2 for elims.  25 questions written elims.
Top 6 teams in finals. Participants from 7th-9th top teams were asked to join finalist teams. Teams of 3 for finals.
8 pounces per team. Pounces divided in two sets of 4 per set of 18 IB questions.

Scoring: Omkar and Debopriyo
1st: Team F - Saikat Sarkar, Kshitij Jyoti and Ranajeet Soman(draft) - 165 pts
2nd:Team C - Samrat Sengupta, Swaminathan Dixit and Ravi Handa (draft)- 130 pts
3rd: Team D - Vibhav Bhave, Rohan Danait and Alok Kulkarni (draft) - 108 pts
4th: Team B - Suraj Prabhu, Abhinav Pathak and Aniketh Rallabhandi (draft) - 105 pts
5th: Team E - Rohan Jain (replaced by Arnold D'Souza), Nikhil Motlag and Nikhil (draft) - 90 pts
6th: Team A - Mrudul, Abhijit and Avaneendra Bhargav(draft) - 65 pts

Prizes sponsored by BCQC


A very low scoring elimination round did not quite portend the high scoring finals. Most of the questions were well appreciated by the finalists and the audience. The quiz was dominated from the outset by Team F who kept answering the dry questions consistently and made full use of their pounces. Team D and C gained points in the visual and theme connects where the winners were found lacking but the Infinite Bounce rounds were good enough to see them through.
A small complaint : 3 or 4 questions in the finals were seen before in quizzes set previously by the same QMs. The QMs should take note not to repeat questions.

No comments: