Sunday, September 21, 2014

Chakravyuh 2014 - Report

Set and Conducted by Rohan Danait

Attended by ~100 teams

Format: Written elims of 30 questions. Finals comprising 42 questions on Infinite Rebounds and a 6 question written round on differential scoring


1st: Anannya Deb & Anirudha sen Gupta: 365 pts
2nd: Aniket Khasgiwale & Aditya Gadre: 300 pts
3rd: Shrirang Raddi & Venkat Srinivasan: 250 pts
4th: Meghashyam Shirodkar & Amit Garde: 215 pts
5th: Debanjan Bose & Vikram Keskar: 185 pts
6th: Shubhankar Gokhale & Arnold D'Souza: 170 pts

An excellent, enjoyable quiz put up by Rohan.

The quiz started with an interesting 30 question written elims  - a throwback to tradition with printed sheets instead of a ppt. There was a surprisingly large range of elim scores with the highest score being 27/30 and the last qualifiers making 18/30

The finals had 2 rounds of 21 questions each on Infinite bounce - using the One-Finite pounce system (recently made popular in Pune circles by BDFL Ramanand) with a +15 on the pounce. The questions were interesting, and well framed (perhaps a bit verbose) and covered a vast range of topics. The effort to avoid peters was evident with 2 seasoned quizzers - Suraj Menon and Ranajeet Soman brought in to moderate the quiz. A few peters got in - but this did not diminish the experience of the quiz by much.

The written round was an airports special - while the questions were nice and interesting - I thought it was a little too specific for a Gen quiz.

To summarise, a number of positives from the quiz. A wide range of questions which were largely original (There were a few peters and some of the questions were on the simpler side for an open quiz, but for this I blame the moderators and not the QM. Kaustubh Bhat will be irked that noble Chakravyuh tradition "at least one finger of god" was not being followed.

Also Rohan conducted the quiz assuredly and was always in control of the proceedings. I also liked that the quiz went along at a leisurely pace, and being on stage was fun as usual with the banter and jokes (which the QM also took part in)

A couple of Negatives on the organization front. First, the registration was chaotic - perhaps next year, there needs to be an exclusive desk for the quiz instead of the universal desk + help desk thing that was there this time. second, most would have prefered to finish the quiz at one shot instead of the hour long break between elims and finals

As for the teams, the two bearded bongs - Anannya and Anirudha - ran away with the quiz right from the start pouncing on question after question and building a 90 point lead over the second placed team - Shrirang and Vcat. Shubhankar and Arnold  had a great showing the written round, but it was a bit too late to properly mount a comeback. In the second half we (Aniket and I) had a good round and cut the Dadas' lead to 65 points and overhauled Shrirang and Vcat for second place.

Congratulations to Anannya (who has perhaps made up for a disappointing performance in the BC Cup final on his last visit to Pune) and Anirudha (stunning debut in Pune quizzing)

Winners list so far:
2001: Shrirang Raddi and Amalesh Mishra
2002: Shrirang Raddi and Amalesh Mishra
2003: Niranjan Pedanekar and Samrat Sengupta
2004: Gaurav Sabnis and Neeraj Sane
2005: Sudarshan Purohit and Amit Garde
2006: Gaurav Sabnis & Shamanth Rao
2007 (Apr): Kunal Sawardekar and Shamanth Rao
2007 (Oct): Avinash Mudaliar and Harikrishnan Menon
2008: J. Ramanand and B.V.Harish Kumar
2009: Anand Sivashankar and Amit Garde
2010: J. Ramanand and B.V.Harish Kumar
2011: Meghashyam Shirodkar and Yash Marathe
2012: Kunal Sawardekar and Avaneendra Bhargav
2013: Meghashyam Shirodkar and Amit Garde
2014: Anannya Deb and Anirudha Sen Gupta


Arnold said...

I personally don't like the 1-finite pounce system; I think two is the right number for that. You should be allowed to get one wrong without forfeiting the pounce for the rest of the round. I also dislike the part point system that was in place, where if a team A gave half the answer and team B gave the full answer then points were split. This goes against the basic premise of IR of evenly distributing attempts since team B is effectively playing for only 5 points for that round.

Other than that, good quiz! Enjoyed it..

Ramanand J said...

Thejaswi Udupa usually does '3 strikes and out'. I thought that's probably a sweeeter spot for no. of pounces in a round. I've also found 1 to be too low, but I have been experimenting with this as a pounce-inhibitor.

Vcat said...

Good work, Rohan! Didn't expect to make the final among so many Messis and Ronaldos. Delighted that we did. :)

Ramanand J said...

Vcat: There's always a place for a Tendulkar ;-)

Rohan Danait said...

Thanks Vcat!

Aditya: It is difficult to have a separate desk just for the quiz as it's part of the entire festival and the organising committee has the final say about the registration process. Also, I deliberately put in a 1 hour break so that we would get ample time to check the question papers while the teams could break for lunch.

Thanks for the feedback :)

Anonymous said...

I, too, think that three incorrect answers is a correct number for losing pounce immunity. We lost pouncing powers early in the second round of questions on bounce. That left was trailing and eventually finished last, but one.

- Debanjan

Arnold said...

Udupa uses the 3-finite pounce, but then again KQA quizzes are generally longer. I liked the idea of being able to pounce for your own questions for the extra points.

Ultimately, the debate is similar to the one on reviews in cricket - is their purpose solely to avoid the effect of peters or is it okay if they become an active part of the team's strategy. 1-finite pounce is definitely the former and 3-finite pounce becomes more of the latter. 2-finite seems to be a nice middle ground.