Monday, April 21, 2014

BC Cup 2014 - Announcement

This is the BCQC's annual solo, open quiz to crown the Best Sports Quizzer. This is the sixth edition. ( Reports for 2009201020112012 and 2013 editions). 

First, a 30 question elim determines 8 qualifiers (i.e. Quarter finalists). These 8 people take part in a 60 question quarter final. The top four go through to the semi final. The semi-final will consist of 36 questions. The top two then go to the final. The scoring is reset to zero after every round.
The finalists will then face off one-on one for a 28 question final. The match consists of a home leg and an away leg. Home leg essentially means you get direct questions. If one gets a direct question wrong which the opponent answers, it counts as an away goal and is used for tie breakers (as per UEFA rules ).

So that's a total of 154 questions + tie breakers.


Cash prizes for the top 8 finishers (i.e. everyone who qualifies from the elim)

1st place: Rs 1500
2nd place: Rs 1000
3rd and 4th places: Rs 500 each
5th, 6th, 7th and 8th places: Rs 250 each


QMs: Yash Marathe, Aniket Khasgiwale and Aditya Gadre
Theme: Sports
Teams: Individual
Restrictions: (or the lack of one) Open quiz. Everyone is welcome
When? 12:45 pm, Saturday, 10th May, 2014
Where? The Boat Club, College of Engineering Pune
Entry Fees? What is that?
Registration: Please register so that it helps us understand how many sheets need to be printed. We will get 5-10 extra sheets - but if you are sure of coming, please register. You can register by joining the facebook event page OR by filing this form 

If you have any queries, please write in to us at  

April Open Quizzes 2014 - Results

Quiz 1: 

Written General Quiz
Set and Conducted by Aditya Gadre

1st: Kunal Sawardekar and Aniket Khasgiwale - 29.5 /40
2nd: Arnold D'Souza and Suraj Prabhu - 20/40

Quiz 2:

The Malik Pritam Quiz
Flavour: MELA
Set by: Aniket Khasgiwale, Govind Grewal, Abhinav Dasgupta, Nikhil Sonde and Anannya Deb
Conducted by: Aniket Khasgiwale

1st: Suraj Menon, Dvaipayan and Anurag: 180 pts
2nd: Avaneendra, Shivam and Alok: 125 pts
3rd: Kunal Sawardekar, Ajay Ragde and Sanidhi Ragde: 115 pts
4th: Suraj Prabhu, Omkar D and Omkar P: 110 pts
5th: Samridh Kapur and Arnold D'Souza: 100 pts
6th: Venkat S, Maitreyi Gupta and Kapeesh Saraf: 35 pts

Since there were only 17 people who showed up, we decided to randomise teams and have everyone in the final. The intended elims were run as 3 written rounds

Four teams were within 5 pts of each other at the half-way mark, following which Suraj Menon and team pulled away to win quite comfortably. 4 teams were in contention for 2nd and 3rd spots till the last 2 questions - with Kunal and team getting the second last question to beat Suraj Prabhu and the Omkars while Shivam and Alok got the last question to cement 2nd place.

Monday, April 14, 2014

BCQC Open Quiz - April 2014